Post-election thanks and thoughts

All,

I wanted to take a moment to say thank you for all your generous support during my 2015 campaign for the ICCSD school board. Your help in all its various forms meant so much to me. I especially want to thank Mike Carberry, who was a valued advisor throughout the nine months that led up to the election, and Rod Sullivan, who also gave me sage council going back over much of the last two years. To the Iowa City Fed, the ICEA, Press-Citizen and Gazette, thank you for endorsing my candidacy. Your support helped me believe I was on the right track, listening, and prepared to fight the good fight.

And finally, to my wife, Theresa, and my children, who sweat with me as we canvassed and worked hard throughout the campaign–thank you and I love you. The campaign was hard on you and I know I owe you a great debt.

I’m a little heartbroken that I wasn’t elected. Well OK, maybe a lot. I had so many thoughts on how I could help bring positive change to the the board and the district. I had plans and ideas I looked forward to sharing with new colleagues. I was excited to be part of a team who would work hard to do right by every child, every family, and every teacher. I’m confident the board as selected will move those goals forward. I congratulate each new member on their selection and I know they will do a great job. I’m truly sad I won’t be there with them.

I don’t know what the future holds for me in terms of public service. Right now, I have a finished novel to revise and submit and two others to complete. I have a new collection of songs to finish, rehearse, and record. I have my work. I look forward to spending time with my family.

I entered the race with two goals. Of course, I wanted run and win; I wanted to be elected and do what I could to aid our community. But my second, more personal goal, was to run and be more true to myself, to stay away from negativity and in-fighting and do what I could to unite and inspire. I hope I was able to do that. I’m proud of how I ran. I’m hopeful that our shared conversations will move us forward.

Thank you all for your passion and dedication to public education. Please continue to believe and question. Take nothing for granted.

I hope these next two years will help repair what divides us. We are blessed to live in a district so ardent about education. Let’s direct that passion toward progress. Let’s do what’s right and just. Let’s have to courage to listen to all voices and assess with dispassionate eyes. Let’s leave our battlements and embrace our shared goals. Let’s do it for our children and those still to come.

Public education is the gift we give our children and our future. Let’s be worthy stewards of that gift.

Thank you again for your support.

Sincerely,

Jason Lewis

Leave a Reply

